The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
The western borders of Eriador, where it marched with Lindon
Important Peaks
Other Names


About this entry:

  • Updated 14 July 2013
  • Updates planned: 1

Blue Mountains

The northwestern mountain-chain of Middle-earth

Map of the Blue Mountains
The Blue Mountains as they appeared in the early years of the Fourth Age

The Ered Luin, the mountain chain that formed the eastern border of the lands of Beleriand during the First Age, and in which were the Dwarf-cities of Nogrod and Belegost. After the loss of Beleriand at the end of the First Age, the mountains remained, but they were now in the far west of Middle-earth.

See also...

Aeglos, Alders, Amlach, Aradan, Arnor, Atanatári, Awakening of Men, Balin, Balrogs, Belegost, Bëor, Bëorians, Bilbo Baggins, Borthand, Círdan the Shipwright, [See the full list...]

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1999, 2001, 2013. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.