The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
The Kingdom under the Mountain was established in III 1999 and continued into the Fourth Age (though there were no Kings during the periods of III 2210 to III 2590, and III 2770 to III 2941)
The Lonely Mountain, to the northeast of Mirkwood
Founded by Thráin I of Durin's Folk
Title of
More than seven Kings from Thráin I to Durin VII


About this entry:

  • Updated 5 May 2009
  • This entry is complete

King under the Mountain

Title of the Dwarf-lords of Erebor

Encyclopedia of Arda Timeline
Years of the Trees First Age Second Age Third Age Fourth Age and Beyond
Thráin I
Thorin I
Four Kings of Durin's Folk
in the Grey Mountains
from Glóin to
Dáin I
Thráin II
(in exile)
Thorin II
Dáin II
Thorin III
Durin VII
The descent of the Kings under the Mountain from its founder Thráin I. The names of Kings who ruled in Erebor are shown in bold text. Note that it is not established with certainty that the descendants of Dáin II ruled continuously in Erebor, but the available evidence suggests that this is likely.

The title taken by Thráin I, founder of the Dwarf-kingdom at Erebor, the Lonely Mountain, and maintained by those Kings of Durin's Folk who dwelt there. The line was broken twice, once by Thorin I (he and four generations of his descendants ruled from the Grey Mountains, not Erebor), and once by the Dragon Smaug (who claimed the title for himself). In both cases, the line was restored to a rightful heir.

I Thráin I Ruled from III 1999 to III 2190 (191 years)
The son of the last King of Khazad-dûm, Náin I. Forced from their ancient home by Durin's Bane, Thráin and his people wandered in Middle-earth for some eighteen years, until they founded a new Kingdom beneath Erebor, the Lonely Mountain. There Thráin became the first King under the Mountain, and ruled for nearly two hundred years. He was succeeded by his son.
II Thorin I Ruled in Erebor from III 2190 to III 2210 (20 years)
Thorin inherited the Kingdom under the Mountain from his father, but did not remain there long. Many of his people were gathering in the rich Grey Mountains to the northwest, and so after just twenty years as King under the Mountain, Thorin abandoned Erebor and re-established the seat of the Kings among his people in the Ered Mithrin.
Interregnum (380 years between III 2210 and III 2590)
Durin's line continued unbroken through these years, but the Kings of Durin's Folk ruled from the Grey Mountains, and so there was no King under the Mountain during this period. After Thorin I, these Kings were Glóin, Óin, Náin II and Dáin I.
III Thrór Ruled in Erebor from III 2590 to III 2770 (180 years)
The time of the Dwarves in the Grey Mountains came to an end with the slaying of King Dáin I by a Dragon; within a year, Durin's Folk had departed from their dwellings there. The new King Thrór led a great part of his people back to Erebor, and re-established the Kingdom under the Mountain (while other Dwarves followed his brother Grór to found a new realm among the Iron Hills). Under Thrór's rule, Erebor became fabulously wealthy, but fame of its riches reached the Dragon Smaug. Descending on the Lonely Mountain, Smaug drove the Dwarves into exile once again.
Interregnum (171 years between III 2770 and III 2941)
While Smaug remained in Erebor, the Dwarves wandered the wilds of Middle-earth, eventually settling in the Blue Mountains west of the Shire. Thrór himself attempted to return to Moria, where he met a violent death, and his successor Thráin II also came to an untimely end as a captive in the pits of Dol Guldur. It was Thrór's grandson Thorin II (better known as Thorin Oakenshield) who would eventually reclaim the Kingdom under the Mountain for the Dwarves.
IV Thorin II
Ruled in Erebor briefly in III 2941 (less than one year)
After the loss of Thrór and Thráin II, Thrór's grandson Thorin took up the rule of Durin's Folk in exile. He became determined to recover the Kingdom under the Mountain, and with the guidance of the Wizard Gandalf he assembled a small group of Dwarves, accompanied by a 'burglar': Bilbo Baggins. Thorin's Company succeeded in driving out the Dragon and re-occupied Erebor, but Thorin was slain in the Battle of Five Armies that followed.
V Dáin II
Ruled from III 2941 to III 3019 (78 years)
The ruler of the Dwarves of the Iron Hills, Dáin had been called to the Lonely Mountain by Thorin to help him establish his rule. Thorin was the last of Thrór's line, and after he fell in the Battle of Five Armies, Dáin (as the grandson of Thrór's brother Grór) inherited the title of King and the rule of Durin's Folk. His rule was one of great prosperity, but it came to an end in the War of the Ring, when he fell in the Battle of Dale.
VI Thorin III
Ruled from III 3019
King Dáin was succeeded by his son Thorin III (who was born shortly after Thorin II became leader of Durin's Folk, and was presumably named for that King). Little is known of Thorin III himself, except that he established a line of rulers that continued on into the Fourth Age
Unknown Kings The names of the seventh and subsequent Kings under the Mountain are not recorded, but it is known that Durin VII was not the immediate successor to Thorin III, so at least one other unnamed King must have ruled during the early Fourth Age.
Durin VII Little is known about this descendant of Thorin III, except that he lived during the Fourth Age (indeed, it isn't established with certainty that he ruled in Erebor, though this seems likely). According to some sources, Durin VII led Durin's Folk back to Moria and refounded the kingdom of Khazad-dûm, which would make him the last of the Kings under the Mountain

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1998, 2001, 2009. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.