The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 14 January 2009
  • Updates planned: 1

Land of Seven Rivers

The homeland of the Laiquendi

Map of the Land of Seven Rivers

A name for Ossiriand, and a literal translation of that Elvish name. The Land of the Seven Rivers lay between the River Gelion and the Blue Mountains, and was the home of the Green-elves, the Laiquendi. The Seven Rivers from which it took its name were the Gelion itself and six of its tributaries. From north to south, these tributaries were the Ascar, the Thalos, the Legolin, the Brilthor, the Duilwen and the Adurant.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2000, 2009. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.