The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
Made during the Years of the Trees. At least two survived into the Fourth Age
Originally housed in Osgiliath, Minas Anor (later Minas Tirith), Minas Ithil (later Minas Morgul) and Orthanc; the Ithil-stone was later removed to Barad-dûr
Made by Fëanor
The rightful users of the Stones were descendants of the House of Elendil and their appointees
Gondor is pronounced 'go'ndorr'
Gondor means 'Land of (the People of) Stone'1
Other names
Individually known as the Master Stone (of Osgiliath) the Anor-stone, the Ithil-stone and the Orthanc-stone


About this entry:

  • Updated 25 August 2016
  • Updates planned: 1
Encyclopedia of Arda Timeline
Years of the Trees First Age Second Age Third Age Fourth Age and Beyond
Map of the Stones of Gondor

The four Seeing-stones or palantíri placed around the land of Gondor by Elendil and his sons. The greatest of these - the so-called Master Stone - was held beneath the Dome of Stars in Osgiliath, but was lost during the uprising known as the Kin-strife. The other three were placed in the fortresses of Angrenost, Minas Anor and Minas Ithil. When Minas Ithil fell to the Nazgûl in III 2002, its palantír came into the hands of Sauron, a fact that would later give him a powerful advantage in the War of the Ring.



Given that the term 'Stones of Gondor' literally translates as 'Stones of the Land of Stone', there is perhaps room for confusion. The 'stone' referred to in Gondor's name was that used by its early builders to create great cities and other works; there is no connection with 'Stone' as in 'Seeing-stone' or palantír.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2010, 2015-2016. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.