The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 3 January 2010
  • Updates planned: 1

House of Húrin

The House of the Stewards of Gondor

Húrin of Emyn Arnen
Approximately ten
unnamed Stewards
Vorondil the Hunter
Mardil Voronwë
Six Ruling Stewards from
Eradan to Hador
Denethor I
Fourteen Ruling Stewards from
Boromir to Ecthelion II
Denethor II
Princes of Ithilien

Names shown in bold here are those who held the office of Ruling Steward.

The descendants of Húrin of Emyn Arnen, the Steward to King Minardil of Gondor. After Húrin's time it became traditional for the Steward to be chosen from among his descendants, and ultimately the post became hereditary. After the loss of Gondor's last King, Eärnur, the Stewards of the House of Húrin took up the rule of the South-kingdom. Denethor, Boromir and Faramir were all descended from this House.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2001, 2010. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.