· · · ·


Seventh Planet of the Solar System

Proper NameUranus
Orbital Period84 years, 37 days
Distance from the SunSemi-Major Axis: 2,875,032,000 km (19.22 AU)
Perihelion: 2,741,685,000 km (18.33 AU)
Aphelion: 3,008,379,000 km (20.11 AU)
Rotation Period17 hours, 14 minutes (retrograde)
Diameter51,119 km
Mean Surface Temperature76 K (-197°C)
MoonsAriel, Belinda, Bianca, Caliban, Cordelia, Cressida, Cupid, Desdemona, Ferdinand, Francisco, Juliet, Mab, Margaret, Miranda, Oberon, Ophelia, Perdita, Portia, Prospero, Puck, Rosalind, Setebos, Stephano, Sycorax, Titania, Trinculo, Umbriel; other small moons
Parent starThe Sun, yellow dwarf
Other planets in this systemMercury, terrestrial planet
Venus, terrestrial planet
Earth, terrestrial planet
Mars, terrestrial planet
Jupiter, gas giant
Saturn, gas giant
Neptune, ice giant
Numerous dwarf planets, asteroids and other bodies
NotesCategorised as an ice giant, the seventh major planet of the Solar System, orbiting the Sun between Saturn and Neptune
Uranus and Belinda

A view of Uranus. The small, rocky body in the foreground is Belinda, one of a number of small moons in close orbit of the planet.

The third of the gas giants, in terms of size and of distance from the Sun, Uranus is a cold, gaseous world, orbiting in the depths of the Solar System.

Use the scrollbar on the right of this window to explore the moons of Uranus, shown to scale. (Values shown are mean distances from Uranus, though note that several of the planet's outer satellites have eccentric orbits).


Related Entries