The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 22 June 2007
  • Updates planned: 2

Order of Wizards

The Heren Istarion

The order of five Istari or Wizards selected by the Valar as their emissaries, and sent eastward across the Great Sea to Middle-earth after a thousand years of the Third Age had passed. Their leader became known as Curunír, or Saruman, and also among the order were the beings known to Men as Gandalf and Radagast. The other two Wizards - known together as the Ithryn Luin or Blue Wizards - journeyed into the distant eastern lands of Middle-earth and did not return.

For a list of the known members of the Order, see the entry for Wizards.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2007. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.