· · · ·


Constellation family of the northern and southern skies

Number of members12
Member constellationsPisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpius, Sagittarius, Capricornus, Aquarius
(shown in order of ascending right ascension from the First Point of Aries)
Celestial QuadrantsSome part of this Family passes through each of the eight celestial quadrants
Right AscensionCircles the entire celestial sphere
Declination-17° 52' to +7° 20'
Total Area (sq deg)8,684
Brightest StarAldebaran in Taurus
Optimum VisibilitySome part of the Family is always visible
NotesThe zodiac is the family of constellations through which the line of Ecliptic runs, marking the path of the Sun through the sky across a year, as seen from Earth. An exception is made for Ophiuchus, which, though it lies on the Ecliptic, was not part of the classical zodiac, and is instead categorised as belonging to the Hercules Family.

A sequence of twelve well-known constellations through which the Sun proceeds through the year, and through which the planets also travel.


Related Entries