The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 28 August 2009
  • Updates planned: 2

Towers of Gondor

The sites of three Seeing-stones

Three towers in Gondor, each of which held one of the South-kingdom's four palantíri. The first two Towers were founded by Elendil's sons Isildur and Anárion: Minas Ithil and Minas Anor. The third was an outpost that guarded Gondor's northern and western borders: Angrenost. By the time of the War of the Ring, each of these Towers had acquired a new name. Angrenost became better known as Orthanc in Isengard, and was taken over by the Wizard Saruman, and Minas Ithil was captured by the Nazgûl, and renamed as Minas Morgul. Only Minas Anor remained in Gondor's hands, it was also given a new name: Minas Tirith, the Tower of Guard to keep watch on the Ringwraiths in the Tower beyond the Anduin.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2009. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.