The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 26 October 2012
  • Updates planned: 1


The Sindarin season of late autumn

Seasons of the Elves

The Elves divided each year into periods that corresponded with the seasons, though they used six of these instead of the more familiar four. Two of these periods corresponded to our autumn: Iavas and Firith, each being fifty-four days long, divided from each other by three days known as the Enderi. Firith thus marked the darkening and waning of the year as it passed into winter, and this is reflected in the name (firith means 'fading', and the season was also called Narbeleth or 'Sun-waning').

Firith was the Sindarin name for late autumn; in Quenya the same season was named Quellë, having the same meaning of 'fading'. On a modern calendar this period would cover most of October and November; to be precise, Firith ran between 28 September and 20 November.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1998, 2001, 2012. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.