The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 12 August 2011
  • Updates planned: 1


The ending of summer

Seasons of the Elves

One of the six long seasons that made up the Elvish calendar, Yávië marked the waning of summer and the early part of autumn. Yávië was the formal Quenya name of this season, which was known in Sindarin as Iavas (both names derive from the Elvish for 'fruit', relating to the time of harvest). It fell after Lairë (full summer) and before the Enderi (the 'middle-days' of the Elves' year, corresponding approximately to the Autumnal Equinox). Yávië lasted for a total of fifty-four days, running on a modern calendar between 2 August and 24 September.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1999, 2001, 2011. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.