The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 12 February 2009
  • Updates planned: 1


An Elvish name for the season of summer

Seasons of the Elves

The second of the six seasons that made up the loa, or annual cycle of the Elves, Laer was the Sindarin name for the season of summer. It followed Ethuil (spring) and was followed in turn by Iavas (the harvest season). Laer (known in Quenya as Lairë) was one of two extended seasons in the Elves' calendars. Whereas most of the seasons consisted of fifty-four days, Laer lasted for seventy-two, falling between modern 22 May and 1 August.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1998, 2001, 2009. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.