The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
Established at the time of the foundation of the Shire in III 1601, or shortly thereafter
The main area of the Shire, excluding Buckland and the Westmarch
A 'farthing' is an old word for a quarter or fourth part


About this entry:

  • Updated 22 January 2011
  • Updates planned: 1


The four quarters of the Shire

Map of the Four Farthings

The four divisions of the Shire: North, South, East and West. The term comes from an Old English word meaning 'quarter' or 'fourth part'.

For a detailed list of the four Farthings that made up the Shire, see the entry for Four Farthings.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1998, 2000, 2010-2011. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.