The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 18 February 2002
  • Updates planned: 2


The six grades of the Tengwar

The six 'grades' used to indicate modifications to a basic sound in Tengwar. For example, where the first tyellë referred to the basic 't' sound - the tengwa known as tinco - the following tyeller would typically represent modifications of this basic sound. In this case - the sequence known as the tincotéma - the next three tyeller would normally represent the sounds 'd', 'th', 'dh', while the meanings of the last two would vary according to the particular system in use.

See also...


For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2002. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.