The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
One Ainu, one Dwarf, one Elf, four Hobbits and two Men
Other names


About this entry:

  • Updated 7 January 2011
  • This entry is complete

Companions of the Ring

The members of the Fellowship

The Nine Walkers who set out from Rivendell on the quest to take the One Ring to its destruction in Mount Doom. Frodo Baggins was the Ring-bearer, and his eight companions consisted of three Hobbits, two Men, a Dwarf, an Elf and a Wizard. Respectively, these were Samwise Gamgee, Meriadoc Brandybuck and Peregrin Took (the Hobbits), Aragorn and Boromir (Men), Gimli the Dwarf, Legolas the Elf and Gandalf the Wizard.

The term 'Companions of the Ring' was used especially in Minas Tirith in the days after the War of the Ring, when all the surviving Companions dwelt together in a house set aside for them. At this time there were just eight Companions remaining, as Boromir had been slain by Orc-arrows at Parth Galen.

For a detailed list of all the Companions, see the entry for Company of the Ring.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2009, 2011. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.