The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 7 December 2011
  • Updates planned: 2

Three Houses of Men

The houses of the Edain

The first Men to enter Beleriand in the First Age were divided into three houses: the House of Bëor, the House of Haleth and the House of Hador. The Men of these three houses allied themselves with the Elves and joined their wars against Morgoth, becoming known collectively as the Edain (a word literally meaning 'Second People' - that is, Men - but used exclusively for the people of these Three Houses). The descendants of these people went on to settle in Númenor and gave rise to the Dúnedain, and thus ultimately the people of Arnor and Gondor.

For a detailed list of the the Three Houses, see the entry for Three Houses of the Edain.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2011. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.