The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 4 July 2013
  • Updates planned: 2


The promontory of the Hyarrostar

Regions of Númenor

The island of Númenor had five great promontories extending out into the Great Sea, and each of these was named for the direction in which it lay from the central mass of the island. The southeastern of these was known as the Hyarrostar, translated as 'Southeastlands'. A wide, densely forested region, its western border, where it marched with the Hyarnustar or Southwestlands, was marked by the river Siril and the shoreland town of Nindamos. The the north, it was separated from the Orrostar (Eastlands) by a narrow firth at whose head lay the great eastern haven of Rómenna.

See also...


For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2013. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.