The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 9 January 2014
  • Updates planned: 2

Queen of the Valar

A title given to Varda the Kindler

There were collectively seven Queens among the Valar: Varda, Yavanna, Nienna, Estë, Vairë, Vána and Nessa. The highest of these was Varda, the Kindler of the stars, who dwelt with her spouse Manwë the Elder King on the peak of Taniquetil. Varda was thus the Queen among the seven Queens beyond the Great Sea.

She was held in special reverence by the Elves of Middle-earth, who gave her the title of Elbereth in the Sindarin language, meaning 'Lady of the Stars'.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2014. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.