The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
Entered Arda soon after its creation
Valar is pronounced 'va'lar'
Valar means 'Powers'
Title of


About this entry:

  • Updated 6 December 2012
  • This entry is complete

Lords of the Valar

The seven Valar who took on male form

With the exception of Melkor, who is no longer named among them, there were fourteen Valar. Seven of these Powers took on a masculine aspect, and were named 'Lords of the Valar', while the other seven took feminine forms, and were referred to as Valier, or Queens of the Valar. The seven Lords, in order of power, were Manwë the Elder King, Ulmo, Aulë, Oromë, Mandos, Lórien and Tulkas. Of these seven, all but Lórien and Tulkas were also counted among the Aratar, the High Ones who constituted the the greatest of the Valar. Each of the Lords took a spouse from among the Queens, with the exception of Ulmo, who chose to dwell alone in the depths of the Outer Ocean.

IManwë The High King of Arda who dwells on the peak of Taniquetil. His spouse is Varda.
II Ulmo The Lord of Waters, who governs the seas and rivers of Arda, and dwells alone in halls beneath the Outer Sea.
III Aulë Called the Maker, Aulë is the great craftsman of the Valar. His spouse is Yavanna the Queen of the Earth.
IV Mandos The Doomsman of the Valar and keeper of the spirits of the slain, Mandos (also known as Námo) dwells in his halls in the west of Aman with his spouse Vairë.
V Oromë The Huntsman of the Valar, who often travelled from Aman to Middle-earth, and whose spouse was Vána the Ever-young.
VI Lórien The master of dreams, whose true name is Irmo, and who dwells in the gardens of Lórien (from which he takes his name) with his spouse Estë
VI Tulkas The last of the Lords of the Valar to enter Arda, Tulkas was a great warrior, surnamed Astaldo, 'the Valiant'. His spouse is Nessa, the sister of Oromë.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1998, 2001, 2008, 2010, 2012. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.