The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
The first Keeper, Galadriel, received Nenya after c. I 16001; the Keepers departed from Middle-earth on 29 September III 3021
Originally Elves, but later Narya was carried by Gandalf, one of the Ainur
Other names
The final Keepers (Elrond, Galadriel, and Gandalf) were known as the Three Keepers


About this entry:

  • Updated 25 January 2010
  • Updates planned: 1

Keepers of the Three Rings

Those who bore Narya, Nenya and Vilya

Encyclopedia of Arda Timeline
Years of the Trees First Age Second Age Third Age Fourth Age and Beyond

Those who held the Three Rings of the Elves after their making, through more than 4,000 years of the Second and Third Ages. At the end of the Third Age, when the Rings finally lost their power and were taken into the West, the Keepers were Elrond, Galadriel and Gandalf.

For a detailed list of the Keepers, see the entry for the Three Keepers.



We don't know exactly when Celebrimbor passed Nenya to Galadriel, but we do know that this followed shortly after the Sauron's forging of the One Ring (through which he revealed his purposes to the Elves). That event took place in about II 1600, so Galadriel would have received her Ring soon after that date.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2002, 2010. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.