The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 6 July 2011
  • Updates planned: 1

Durin’s Heir

Title of the descendants of Durin the Deathless

Durin I
Durin II
Durin III
Durin IV
Durin V
Durin VI
Náin I
Thráin I
Thorin I
Náin II
Dáin I
Thráin II
Thorin II
Dáin II
Thorin III
Durin VII

The descent of the House of Durin, showing all known Heirs of Durin the Deathless and their lines of descent. Note that the existence of Durin II, IV and V are inferred, but we have no specific details about those Heirs.

A title given to the rulers of the Longbeards, who were descended in direct line from Durin the Deathless, eldest of all Dwarves. Durin was the founder of Khazad-dûm, and his Heirs were its Kings through many generations. Periodically, one of these Dwarves would be born who bore a powerful resemblance to the original Durin; these Heirs - said by some to have been Durin the Deathless reborn - also bore the name Durin. It was in the time of Durin VI that the Dwarves of Khazad-dûm awoke a Balrog, forcing them to abandon their ancient home, though some accounts claim that his descendant, Durin VII, eventually succeeded in reclaiming Khazad-dûm for Durin's Folk.

For a detailed list of Durin's Heirs as Kings of his Folk the Longbeards, see the entry for King of Durin's Folk.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2010-2011. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.