The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien


About this entry:

  • Updated 4 November 2006
  • Updates planned: 2


The ‘Light-series’

The témar of the Tengwar

A series of characters of the Tengwar representing variations on the sound 'k'. The series was named for the character calma, literally meaning 'light', but selected here for its initial 'k' sound. In normal use, these were the letters formed with a telco (stem) to the right, and a lúva (bow) curving up and to the left. Depending on the system in use, these 'bows' might be open or closed. The basic sounds making up this series were known as calma ('k'), anga ('g'), harma ('kh'), and anca ('gh').

See also...


For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 2006. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.