The Encyclopedia of Arda - an interactive guide to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien
Immortal; all existed before the foundation of Arda
'The Exalted'
Other Names


About this entry:

  • Updated 19 July 1998
  • This entry is complete


The highest of the Powers

"Among [the Valar] Nine were of chief power and reverence; but one is removed from their number, and Eight remain, the Aratar, the High Ones of Arda..."

The eight greatest of the Valar; Manwë, Varda, Ulmo, Yavanna, Aulë, Mandos, Nienna and Oromë. Though Manwë was held to be the High King of Arda, all these eight were held in equal reverence, and were said to possess a majesty that surpassed even the other Valar.

It seems clear from the quotation above that the Aratar were originally nine, and included Melkor (probably as the greatest of them), but he was removed from this 'order' after his rebellion.

For acknowledgements and references, see the Disclaimer & Bibliography page.

Website services kindly sponsored by Axiom Software Ltd.

Original content © copyright Mark Fisher 1998, 2001. All rights reserved. For conditions of reuse, see the Site FAQ.